The Accès culture network’s program in boroughs all over Montreal
Parallel exhibitions and activities will take place in 2011 and 2012 in boroughs all over Montreal while the Lost Neighbourhoods exhibition is presented at the Centre d’histoire. The common theme is the memory of neighbourhoods, their waterfronts, and their built heritage.
The following exhibitions and activities are only offered in french.
Découvrir le passé au présent : au cœur du Vieux-Saint-Laurent
November 19, 2011 to January 23, 2012Borough of St. Laurent
Centre des loisirs de Saint-Laurent
1375, rue Grenet
This exhibition presents unique places that influenced the course of the history of St. Laurent. Some 30 photographs bring back the years between 1950 and 1980, taking us through the landscape of St. Laurent during this crucial period, showing us how the borough’s territory developed and what these lost neighbourhoods have become today. In collaboration with the Musée des maîtres et artisans du Québec, with citizen participation by Yves Ouellette, who directed the project.
In collaboration with the Musée des maîtres et artisans du Québec and the support of M Yves Ouellette, chargé de projet.
Le pont-tunnel Louis-Hippolyte-La Fontaine : une œuvre moderne sur les traces du passé
May 28 to September 4, 2011
Borough of Rivière-des-Prairies—Pointe-aux-Trembles
Presented by the Atelier d’histoire de la Longue-Pointe.
During the 1960s, the construction of Lafontaine Tunnel caused the disappearance of part of Longue Pointe, a community whose origins date from the French regime. Learn more about the history of the village, its industrial development and communication routes as well as the impacts of the tunnel’s construction, a true engineering feat.
Pointe-aux-Trembles, d'hier à aujourd'hui : un patrimoine à préserver
Borough of Rivière-des-Prairies—Pointe-aux-Trembles
Presented by the Atelier d’histoire de la Pointe-aux-Trembles.
The destruction by fire of 60 homes in the village of Pointe-aux-Trembles in 1912, the Convent of the Nuns of the Congregation of Notre-Dame in 1922, and Montreal’s oldest church in 1937, along with the effects of the two World Wars and the Great Depression, all contributed to the impoverishment of the community of Pointe-aux-Trembles, and diminished the quality and quantity of its housing. A comparison between about 60 archival photographs of heritage buildings and recent photographs of these same places will show visitors whether the buildings have disappeared, made over, or preserved.
Au bord de l’eau, au fil du temps
Borough of Verdun
Borough City Hall
Centre culturel de Verdun
Centre communautaire Elgar
The waterfront, that fascinating window on the river, has always been a defining part of Verdun -- a pole of attraction, an unforgettable scene, and an undeniable asset. In a conversation, anyone who knows Verdun will mention the presence of the St. Lawrence, the park along the shore, and the opportunity for strolling that it offers. The waterfront has never failed to make a strong impression. Presented by the Borough of Verdun, the exhibition Flow of water, flow of time tells a story, takes us on a voyage, and pays tribute to this legendary stretch of shoreline. It was here that the famous Maison Nivard-de-Saint-Dizier, one of the oldest houses on the Island, was built in 1710. The site has yielded evidence that previously, it had been occupied by First Nations peoples. At the beginning of the 20th century, wharfs and pavilions appeared along the shore, and a ferry boat even made the crossing between Verdun and Laprairie. Then, in the 1930s, when Verdun was in the midst of a period of rapid growth, the Auditorium and the Natatorium, two structures whose reputation needs no further comment, were built. In the 1960s and 70s, major landfill projects reconfigured the waterfront. From 1985 until today, tree-planting, landscaping, and accessibility have continued to make the waterfront an irresistible magnet.
Visite commentée du territoire de Saint-Laurent
Sunday, October 2, 2011, at 2 p.m.
In the framework of Les Journées de la culture, the Borough of St. Laurent invites the community to take a bus tour to discover aspects of the political, religious, social, economic, and institutional history of Old St. Laurent. This guided tour presents the evolution of the occupation and planning of the community as well as the figures who stand out in its history. Presented by l’Autre Montréal.
Les Compagnons de Saint-Laurent : une belle page d'histoire théâtrale
Monday, January 23, 2012, at 7:30 p.m.
This presentation of an important chapter in the history of Quebec theatre is a survey of the 15 years of activity of theatre company Les Compagnons de Saint-Laurent. From 1937 to 1952, under the direction of Father Émile Legault, this group attracted many of Quebec’s best-known artists, including Georges Groulx, Jean Coutu, Jean-Louis Roux, Félix Leclerc, Jean Duceppe, Thérèse Cadorette, Lionel Villeneuve, Jacques Létourneau, Bertrand Gagnon, Gabriel Gascon, Charlotte Boisjoly, Hélène Loiselle, Jean Gascon, Guy Provost, and Jean-Pierre Masson.
Media contact for the boroughs